The evidence guide

NMN supplement guide: what the evidence and the FDA actually say

An NMN supplement raises NAD+ in human trials at 250 to 1,000 mg a day, yet its US legal status reversed twice in 3 years (per the FDA letters of 2022 and 2025). Before you pick the best NMN supplement, know that 64% of 22 Amazon products tested in 2021 held under 1% of the labeled NMN (per ChromaDex).

FDA excluded NMN as a supplement in November 2022. FDA reversed that exclusion in September 2025. Evidence grade: early or mixed evidence.

The short version

A 2021 test found 64% of 22 best-selling products held under 1% of their labeled NMN (per ChromaDex), so choosing one starts with the bottle, not the brand. The legal status also flipped twice in 3 years (per the FDA). Yet the search results for the best NMN supplement are almost all commercial rankings.

Those two facts matter more to any NMN supplement purchase than which brand a magazine picked. This page covers the evidence for the molecule, the regulatory history that shaped the market, and the label checks that separate a product from a story.

NAD precursor options compared on what human trials actually measured
Product Evidence Typical dose 3rd-party tested Best for Not for Price band
NMN (beta-nicotinamide mononucleotide) Early / mixed evidence 250 to 1,000 mg daily in trials Not stated raising NAD+ with the most direct precursor story anyone wanting proven functional outcomes $$ · mid
NR (nicotinamide riboside) Early / mixed evidence 250 to 1,000 mg daily in trials Not stated the longer and less disrupted human trial record those expecting a demonstrated advantage over NMN $$ · mid
Nicotinamide (plain vitamin B3 amide) Early / mixed evidence widely studied across a broad range Not stated the cheapest genuine NAD+ precursor by a wide margin anyone who wants the targeted longevity trial data $ · budget
Liposomal or sublingual NMN Limited evidence varies; often lower stated milligrams Not stated a plausible absorption hypothesis a trial-supported reason to pay the premium $$$ · premium

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission; it does not change our assessments.

What NMN is, precisely

NMN is beta-nicotinamide mononucleotide, a direct precursor in the pathway that produces nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide. NAD+ is a coenzyme central to energy metabolism and DNA repair that declines with age, and the logic of the category is that restoring the precursor restores the coenzyme.[1]

Where the logic breaks

The first half of that logic holds: oral NMN does raise NAD+ metabolites in people. The step that has not been demonstrated is the one everybody is actually buying: that the raised marker produces a benefit you would notice. We treat that gap at length in our guide to what the NAD precursor trials actually measured.

Why did the FDA remove NMN from the market, and what changed?

On 4 November 2022 the FDA issued a letter concluding that NMN is excluded from the dietary supplement definition, on the ground that the compound had previously been authorized for investigation as a new drug.[2] That drug preclusion clause is a technicality about what was filed first, not a finding that NMN is dangerous.

Pages written before 2025 describe a dead legal position

On 29 September 2025 the agency reversed itself and concluded NMN may be sold as a supplement.[3] Any retailer page or article dated between late 2022 and late 2025 may still call a lawful product banned. Check the date on whatever told you NMN's status, and remember that lawful says nothing about what is in a given bottle.

What this does not say
The 2025 conclusion is the FDA's own petition response and rests on a revised reading of the race-to-market clause (NMN was sold as a supplement before it was authorised for drug investigation); lawful status says nothing about purity or efficacy.
Timeline of the US regulatory status of NMN, from the November 2022 FDA exclusion to the September 2025 reversal
Neither decision was about whether NMN is safe or whether it works. The three years between them shaped the product market you are buying from.

Lawful is not the same as approved

Early / mixed evidence Be careful with the word approved: NMN is now lawful in supplements but not FDA approved, because the FDA does not approve dietary supplements for efficacy. Any page that describes the 2025 decision as FDA approval has misread it, and several do.

What the human trials actually found

In short, oral NMN raises NAD+ metabolites in humans and has been well tolerated in trials so far. A trial in postmenopausal prediabetic women reported improved muscle insulin sensitivity, which is a real functional result and also a single finding in a specific population.[4] Broader claims about energy, cognition or aging itself rest on mechanism rather than measurement.

What the NR trials add

The related precursor NR has the longer trial record, and it shows the same pattern.

  • NR raises NAD+ metabolites reliably.[5]
  • One trial in older adults found reductions in systolic blood pressure and arterial stiffness that were suggestive rather than definitive.[6]
  • A trial in obese men found the marker moved without the expected metabolic benefits following.[7]

A review of the field concluded that these compounds are safe and well tolerated and may raise the NAD+ metabolome, while only limited data support clinical benefit.[8]

Is NMN really worth the hype?

Separate the two claims. The narrow claim, that NMN raises NAD+, is supported. The broad claim, that raising NAD+ slows aging in a way you will experience, is untested, yet almost all of the enthusiasm attaches to the second claim while citing evidence for the first.

Paying ahead of proof

Whether that makes it worth buying depends on your tolerance for paying in advance of proof, a legitimate and common position. It becomes a problem when marketing pretends the proof already exists. The same test applies to the resveratrol often sold alongside it, which has had a longer run of human trials and is assessed in our resveratrol supplement review.

The purity problem is the real risk

The three years of regulatory limbo left a market where many NMN products were made and sold without meaningful oversight.

Most tested bottles held almost no NMN

When ChromaDex bought the 22 best-selling NMN products on Amazon in 2021 and measured them by HPLC, only 3 met their label claim and 14 held less than 1% of it (per ChromaDex, 2021). For a buyer, an empty capsule is a worse failure than a weak molecule, because no trial result can rescue a dose you never took.

What this does not say:
ChromaDex sells nicotinamide riboside, a competing NAD+ precursor, and ran the test itself; it is a 2021 snapshot of Amazon listings, not of today's market.
What 22 NMN products actually contained
What 22 NMN products actually contained Bar chart: 14% met label claim; 23% held 88 to 99% of claim; 64% held under 1% of claim. Met label claim 3 of 22 (14%) 88% to 99% of claim 5 of 22 (23%) Under 1% of claim 14 of 22 (64%)
Show the numbers as a table
MeasureValue
Met label claim3 of 22 (14%)
88% to 99% of claim5 of 22 (23%)
Under 1% of claim14 of 22 (64%)
Share of the 22 best-selling Amazon NMN products by measured NMN versus label claim. ChromaDex sells a competing precursor and ran the test itself. Sources: ChromaDex, Quantitative Analysis of Twenty-Two NMN Consumer Products, October 2021

Why a certificate of analysis matters

If a product contains a fraction of its claimed milligrams, then the dose you chose from a trial is not the dose you took, and no amount of choosing the right compound rescues you. A batch-specific certificate of analysis is not a nice extra here; it is the single check that makes everything else meaningful.

What is the highest rated NMN supplement?

The roundups on page one disagree with each other, and most of them are affiliate-monetized, which means their rankings encode commercial relationships as well as judgment. We do not publish a top pick, because we cannot test batches and would be guessing in exactly the way we criticize.

What separates products is simpler: the exact molecule named, milligrams per serving, a current certificate of analysis, and cost per day at that serving. A product that clears all four is a better bet than a product that won a magazine award.

How much NMN should I take?

Published human trials have generally used somewhere between 250 mg and 1,000 mg a day. Products on sale span a far wider range, from under 100 mg per serving to 900 mg or more, and the high end is where the margins are.

No dose-response relationship has been established in humans for any outcome that matters. That means a 900 mg product is not demonstrably better than a 250 mg one, it is demonstrably more expensive. If you want the dosing detail, we cover it in our guide to what the trials actually dosed.

What is the most effective form of NMN?

Nobody knows, because nobody has run the comparison. Liposomal, sublingual, powder and standard capsule formats all make absorption arguments, and none of them has a head-to-head human trial measuring an outcome against another format.

The published trials used ordinary oral dosing. That is the format with evidence behind it. Paying a premium for a delivery mechanism is buying a hypothesis, which is a fine thing to do knowingly and a poor thing to do because a label implied it was settled.

Is NMN better than NR?

Neither has clinical-outcome data, so neither has shown superiority. NR has the longer and more consistent human trial record,[9] while NMN has the more direct position in the pathway and the more turbulent regulatory history.[10]

Anyone telling you confidently that one beats the other is extrapolating from mechanism. We compare them properly, including where the marketing claims come from, in the head-to-head on NMN, NR and NAD.

Is there a downside to taking NMN?

Three, and they are worth stating plainly because the category rarely does.

  1. Cost. This is an ongoing monthly expense for an unproven benefit, and the arithmetic is rarely presented per day.
  2. Unproven clinical benefit. The marker moves. Whether anything you care about moves with it is untested.
  3. Product risk. Documented label and purity divergence means the bottle may not deliver the dose you selected.

What the safety data show

What is not on that list is a serious safety signal. Human trials have reported good tolerability, including no evidence of liver toxicity, at doses up to about 1,000 mg a day. Those trials were small and short, so this is a statement about what has been looked for and not found.

Who cannot take NMN supplements?

Anyone pregnant or breastfeeding, anyone with an active cancer diagnosis without oncology input, and anyone taking prescription medication who has not checked for interactions. In each case the reason is the same: the trials excluded these groups, so there is no evidence base, and absence of evidence is a reason for caution rather than reassurance.

Why is NMN restricted in Europe?

Different rulebook, different question. The European framework treats NMN under novel food rules, which require pre-market authorization for ingredients lacking a significant history of consumption in the EU before 1997. That is a classification and paperwork matter, not a safety ruling, and it is entirely separate from the US drug-preclusion story.

How to read an NMN label without being sold to

  1. The exact molecule. Beta-nicotinamide mononucleotide, named as such, not a trademarked blend name.
  2. Milligrams per serving. Of NMN specifically, with the serving size stated in capsules rather than implied.
  3. A batch-specific certificate of analysis. Ask for it. In this category the answer to that email is the most informative thing you will learn about the company.
  4. Cost per day at the labeled serving. Divide by servings, not capsules. This reorders most shortlists.
  5. What the claim is doing. Supports cellular energy is a permitted regulatory phrase, not a trial finding.

Running your own trial of it

If you are going to spend the money, get information out of it. Decide before you start what you are measuring, over what period, and what result would make you stop. Change one thing at a time or you will learn nothing about which thing did it.

If you want an objective baseline rather than an impression, see our guide to measuring whether anything changed and what those tests can and cannot tell you. A three-month test with a defined endpoint is worth more than three years of an unexamined subscription.

Frequently asked questions

Why did the FDA remove NMN from the market?

In November 2022 the FDA concluded that NMN was excluded from the dietary supplement definition, because the compound had previously been authorized for investigation as a new drug. That is a technical exclusion under the drug preclusion clause, not a safety finding, and the distinction was lost in most of the coverage.

Did the FDA approve the NMN supplement?

No. On 29 September 2025 the FDA reversed its 2022 position and concluded that NMN is not drug-precluded, which makes it lawful for use in dietary supplements. Lawful is not approved: the FDA does not approve dietary supplements for efficacy at all.

Is NMN really worth the hype?

It reliably raises NAD+ metabolites and it is well tolerated at studied doses. What it has not done is demonstrate a clear functional benefit in healthy people in a well-powered trial. The hype is running several years ahead of the evidence, which does not make the compound worthless, only oversold.

Is there a downside to taking NMN?

Three real ones: an ongoing cost, a clinical benefit unproven in people, and a product market with documented purity and label problems. That means the specific bottle you buy may not contain what the trials used.

Is NMN toxic to the liver?

No signal of liver toxicity has emerged in the human trials run so far, which have generally reported good tolerability at doses up to about 1,000 mg a day. Those trials were small and short, so the honest statement is that no problem has been found rather than that none exists.

What is the most effective form of NMN?

There is no trial comparing liposomal, sublingual and standard capsules head to head on any outcome that matters. Delivery-format claims in this category are marketing positions, not trial results. The forms used in the published human studies were ordinary oral doses.

What NMN does Kim Kardashian take?

Celebrity brand associations tell you about marketing budgets, not about trial evidence, and they change with contracts. No NMN product has demonstrated an advantage over another in a head-to-head human trial, so a famous customer is not a data point about the product.

Does NMN actually raise NAD+ levels?

Yes, and this is the best-established claim in the category. Human trials have measured increases in NAD+ metabolites after oral NMN. The unresolved question is whether raising that marker produces anything a person would notice, which is a different study entirely.

How long does NMN take to work?

Blood metabolite changes appear within weeks in trials. A felt effect is a separate matter that trials were mostly not designed to detect. If you are testing it yourself, set the duration and the measure before you start rather than deciding afterwards.

Why is NMN banned in Europe?

The European position rests on novel food rules, which require pre-market authorization for ingredients without a history of consumption in the EU before 1997. It is a regulatory classification question rather than a safety ruling, and it is separate from the US drug-preclusion story.

Is NMN worth the money compared to plain nicotinamide?

Nicotinamide is a genuine NAD+ precursor and costs a small fraction of NMN. The expensive precursors have more targeted trial data, which is not the same as demonstrating better outcomes. Anyone comparing on price should have nicotinamide in the comparison.

How would I test whether NMN is doing anything for me?

Decide the measure, the period and the stopping rule before you start, and change one thing at a time. A three-month test with a defined endpoint teaches you more than an indefinite subscription, and it is the test almost nobody runs.

References

11 sources, all link-checked; oldest check

  1. FDA letter stating that NMN is excluded from the dietary supplement definition. US Food and Drug Administration, superseding letter dated 4 November 2022 (docket FDA-2022-S-0023).The original drug-preclusion decision: NMN excluded under 21 U.S.C. 321(ff) because it had been authorized for investigation as a new drug.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  2. FDA response to citizen petition on beta-nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN). US Food and Drug Administration, letter of 29 September 2025, docket FDA-2023-P-0872.Reversal of the 2022 position: FDA concluded NMN is not drug-precluded and is not excluded from the dietary supplement definition.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  3. Nicotinamide mononucleotide increases muscle insulin sensitivity in prediabetic women. Yoshino M et al. Science 2021;372(6547):1224–1229.Publisher blocks automated checks · last tried Sep 15, 2026
  4. Chronic nicotinamide riboside supplementation is well-tolerated and elevates NAD+ in healthy middle-aged and older adults. Martens CR et al. Nature Communications 2018;9:1286.Randomized, placebo-controlled; raised NAD+, no clear functional outcome.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  5. A randomized placebo-controlled clinical trial of nicotinamide riboside in obese men: safety, insulin-sensitivity, and lipid-mobilizing effects. Dollerup OL et al. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition 2018;108(2):343–353.12 weeks, 2 g/day: safe, but no improvement in insulin sensitivity or body composition.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  6. Nicotinamide riboside augments the aged human skeletal muscle NAD+ metabolome and induces transcriptomic and anti-inflammatory signatures. Elhassan YS et al. Cell Reports 2019;28(7):1717–1728.e6.Raised muscle NAD+ metabolites without a matching change in functional performance.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  7. Nicotinamide riboside is uniquely orally bioavailable in mice and humans. Trammell SAJ et al. Nature Communications 2016;7:12948.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  8. Nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN): evidence summary. Examine.com.Publisher blocks automated checks · last tried Sep 15, 2026
  1. Nicotinamide riboside (NR): evidence summary. Examine.com.Publisher blocks automated checks · last tried Sep 15, 2026
  2. Dietary supplementation with NAD+-boosting compounds in humans: current knowledge and future directions. Freeberg KA et al. J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci 2023 (cited 92).NAD+ precursors are safe and well tolerated and may raise the NAD+ metabolome, but only limited data from select studies support clinical benefit in humans.Verified Sep 15, 2026
  3. NAD+ supplements: can they really slow down aging?. Cleveland Clinic Health Essentials, 26 February 2026.Mainstream clinical overview; notes NAD+ itself is a large molecule and that most products supply precursors instead.Verified Sep 15, 2026

Every link above is re-requested on a schedule by an automated checker; the date shown is when it last answered. Publishers that block automated requests are marked as such rather than reported broken. Our editorial standards explain how a source gets cited here in the first place.

Filed by the Rapamycin.store evidence desk. Each source is re-checked when the page is reviewed.

Own a longevity or health brand?

Rapamycin.store publishes sponsored and guest posts on an aged, topically-relevant domain, and offers display advertising. Tell us what you want to promote and we'll send our current options.